How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

It’s shouldn’t matter! March 22, 2010

Filed under: Adoption — My Dysfunctional Life @ 9:14 am

Ok, so I was filling out my Census form and I come to the section about children. I stop, and way, WTF?

Here’s what the government says about the information from the census:

“…the information the census collects helps to determine how more than $400 billion dollars of federal funding each year is spent on infrastructure and services like:

  • Hospitals
  • Job training centers
  • Schools
  • Senior centers
  • Bridges, tunnels and other-public works projects
  • Emergency services”

So why, when I get to the section on children, does it ask me not if I have “children”, but “biological children” or “adopted children”? Why does that matter?! I didn’t realize that adoption was pertinent to planning bridges or Schools. Would me “adopted” child be in a different class than a “bio” child? Drive on a different street than a “bio” child? NO. So why is this something that needs differentiation on my Census form? I was so mad!

My friend also had a post on a topic similar to this where her HR dept wanted her specify “adopted son” or just “son” on some paperwork. These are our “sons”! It doesn’t matter whether or not they were adopted…they are STILL OUR SONS!

As long as people/agencies/HR depts. segregate adopted children from others, there will always be that Lifetime movie, BM-coming-back-to-rip-him out-of-our-arms, adopted kids really aren’t “YOUR” kids, stereotype. OOOO….I’m so mad just writing this!

Ok…simmer down…serenity now…

I wrote a previous post about Adoption Language. I say to you, dear government: LEARN IT, KNOW IT, LIVE IT. And drop this negative language from your forms!! Good day to you sir!

 

One Response to “It’s shouldn’t matter!”

  1. Anonymous Says:

    I agree that the HR forms are a little offensive, but cut the gov some slack on the census. it is the single best source of data about the US population, and could be used to increase adoption funding, support social services for bio or adoptive moms (e.g., at hospitals), support embassy services for foreign adoptions, etc.


Leave a Reply

