How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

7 months old! February 18, 2010

Filed under: Adoption — My Dysfunctional Life @ 3:14 pm

Well, the last two months have been full of change for my little peanut. This means he has been happy, crabby, screaming, laughing, crying, and smiling all at once. One day is wonderful, and another brings tears. Here’s the scoop:

Peanut just went thorough a HUGE growth spurt. He grew 3 inches in a month, and gained almost two pounds. Long and lean, the doc says. His head grew an inch and a half in circumference (it’s like an orange on a toothpick!) and he is hitting milestones like crazy. Last month he mastered sitting up and is now working on pulling himself up on things. He can scoot around the floor on his tush, and know who mama, dada, and kitty-cat are. He raises his arms up when you say “sooooo big!”, and can pinch things between his fingers. The doc says he’s ahead and he’ll probably be one of those kids who walks at 9 months. I had better start baby-proofing…

Another thing…the teething. It has hit it’s peak (I hope) and no teeth in site. He is always chewing on something…binky, stacking sups, teething beads, his hands, my hands, etc. He’s usually in good spirits about it, except at night. That’s when it’s the worst. Poor little guy. He has been teething for 3 months already…where are the teeth!!??

All of this change means my baby, who has been sleeping through the night since he was two months old, is now…well…NOT. He’s up at least twice night. For the first week, we picked him up and rocked him back to sleep, but he was getting used to that. Not good. I decided to take action and went to him in stages. When he cried, I went in a shhhhhhhhhed him and rubbed his belly and head. No picking up. I did this for 10 minutes. Then I left for 5, which is when the crying escalated. I waited. This was the hardest thing ever. Then I went back in and shhhhhhhhhhhed and rubbed his head and belly. Same thing. Left again…same thing. Once more I went in there and did the rubbing, shhhhhhing thing. He now had tears in his eyes, and so did I. BUT, he finally fell asleep and has slept (knock on wood) the last two nights through. 🙂

What was so great was my husband…he was watching everything I did on the video monitor in Peanut’s room. He said that he remembers when he was going through hard times (moving to a strange state, losing his brother) that me rubbing his head and softly shhhhhhing in his ear was the only thing that would comfort him. He said I was a wonderful, loving mother and wife and he loved me so much. It was a wonderful moment!

Speaking of love, Peanut is now hugging me and giving me big slobbery kisses on my face. He knows exactly what they are and will do it when I ask him to…but only to me, not David. I think it’s the stubble. I LOVE that my boys love me and I feel so blessed every day that this is my life. I fall more in love with them both every day!

 

Leave a Reply

