How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

Adoption Profiles January 15, 2010

Filed under: Adoption — My Dysfunctional Life @ 4:46 pm

Some of you may know our story, and some may not, but I wanted to share a little about Adoption Profiles and our experiences.

We waited 13 months for our son. 13 long, long months. We were profiled 12 times before we were chosen, using our first profile. After being profiled and not chosen that many times, I decided I may need to take aggressive action.

Right about that time, I heard a story on my favorite podcast, This American Life. They interviewed a birthmom, sharing her experience with choosing an adoptive family. She spoke of how she got a stack of profiles in the mail and had to choose one family to raise her child. She goes on to say that every birthmother letter looked the same to her: they all liked the outdoors (this in in Oregon), they all were active, they all went to college, they all had regular jobs and regular houses. Nothing stood out…they all blurred together. She had to go through this difficult process and was just overwhelmed with information from these families…letters…pictures…captions…blah…blah…blah.

So a lightbulb went on over my head (ok, maybe just a candle) and I said to myself, “Self, you need to simplify!”

I had designed out first profile like a scrapbook. First, the letter introducing us to the birthmom. Then some facts about us, followed by lots of pictures with different backgrounds, captions, etc. Busy, busy, busy. I had originally thought I wanted to give her as much information as possible. Now I can see that this was probably the reason we weren’t chosen so many times. This poor woman is going through a very emotional time; she doesn’t want to be bombarded with names, places, and faces. She just wants the basics about us.

With that in mind, I redesigned our entire profile. I scaled way back, and kept to a consistent color and design scheme throughout the entire book (I have a design background). I excluded captions. I broke up the Dear Birthmother letter and made it flow throughout the book. I ended it with a thank you and a peace sign next to our names. Print, ship, and distribute.

Guess what? We were chosen the very next time!

So…I decided I wanted to help other adoptive families. I started my own business designing and printing Adoption Profiles and Lifebooks. I also do profile review. My adoption agency heard of this and started asking me to come and speak to other families about what to do…and what not to do…when creating their profiles. They use our old and new profiles as examples for prospective adoptive parents!

So, the new biz is called Petite Publishing (www.petitepublishing.com). The link is also in the right margin of this blog). Check it out! I have our profile up there as a sample. I have also started Twittering adoption information (mdlasure) and I post my blog entires to my Facebook page. That, in turn, has put me in contact with lots of people who want to hear about our adoption experiences. So many people want to adopt and if I can help in that process, I’m happy to do it.

Check out the site and let me know what you think…and if you have questions, want help with your profiles, or just want to chat, let me know!

 

One Response to “Adoption Profiles”

  1. Beth Says:

    You are a remarkable woman. I feel blessed to know you and to call you “friend”.


Leave a Reply

