How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

The Holidays January 14, 2010

Filed under: Adoption — My Dysfunctional Life @ 8:42 pm

It was a wonderful holiday; our first Christmas as a family. 🙂

We spent Christmas Eve at my in-law’s house. Grandpa set up an electric train and the Peanut (nickname for Nicholas from now on…) watched it go around and around. He was fascinated! I think Grandpa liked watching Peanut enjoy it more than anything…it was a wonderful moment. Christmas Day brought both sides of the family here for dinner and presents. I made turkey…two breasts instead of a whole turkey (who has the time?!) and all the trimmings. The breasts cooked in half the time and were delicious! I’ll never make a whole turkey again!

Christmas morning was just for us…Peanut opened his first present ever; a soft stuffed rainbow ball that has a bell in it. He liked it!  We rolled it back and forth to him and he laughs every time. I also got the book, “Tell Me Again About the Night I Was Born” by Jamie Lee Curtis. It’s about adoption and it’s a wonderful story. It’s a great way to talk to your child about open adoption. We are starting already so that there will never be a time that he doesn’t know about his birthmom.

We took some holiday pictures, and enjoyed the evening by the lights on the tree. Just perfect! What a wonderful way to end a fantastic year. We have been so blessed this year…and I’m thankful every minute of every day for my son, my family, and my life. Here’s to a great 2010!

 

Leave a Reply

