How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

Our Adoption Story August 5, 2009

Filed under: Adoption — My Dysfunctional Life @ 3:57 pm

Two weeks ago, we brought home our son!  We had been waiting for 13 months, and this was the 13th time we had been profiled by a birthmother. 13 is my new lucky number. :-D- Here’s the full story of how Nicholas Richard Hunter came to be our son.

In a previous post, I wrote about how we were celebrating David’s father’s and Grandmother’s birthdays the weekend of July 18-19. Most of our family was in town for the occasion, so we decided to take off Monday the 20th and spend the day with David’s sister and her hubby.

We got a call about a profiling opportunity Monday around 9am. There had been a baby boy born Sunday to a local birthmother…would we want to be profiled? Of course! So we treated it as we had other recent profilings and kept our cool. You can only get excited so many times before you realize that you need to remain calm, since the let down is too difficult when you don’t get chosen.

When my sister-in-law came over that morning, she asked about any recent happenings on the adoption front. I told her about this case and she asked why I wasn’t excited about it. I explained to her that I was, but after being profiled 12 times already, I couldn’t take the heartbreak every time we didn’t get chosen, so I was taking the “don’t get excited, since it may not happen” approach. She then proceeds to tell me that she wished I hadn’t told her since it just made her mad that we had been waiting so long, and had endured such an emotional roller-coaster each time. I explained that it’s easier that way, to stay detached, and left the room so she could change.

I was in the kitchen (as usual) at about noon when Adoption STAR called again. Our family advocate asked if David was home as well, and my stomach did a flip-flop! She then told us that we had been chosen by the birthmom (BM). Here was my reaction: OHMYGOD, OHMYGOD, OHMYGOD, OHMYGOD, OHMYGOD, OHMYGOD, OHMYGOD! I started crying and David and his sister ran to me and started crying as well. They knew what was happening! We all hugged, said I love you about 100 times, and then I told our family advocate that I loved her, too! A few more crying jags, and I was ready to get the information. The BM was to sign the surrender that night and we could pick up our son tomorrow (Tuesday)!

David just sat in shock for about an hour, while his sister and I brought out the changing table, basinette, and other baby items I had packed away a few months before. We proceeded to make phone calls to family and friends, but saved telling David’s parents until we saw them that night; they were coming over for pizza and wings. We wanted to surprise them, so we just put the car seat on the kitchen table so they could figure it out for themselves. When they came over, we just kept smiling and didn’t say a word.

Mom looked at us and said, “What? Why are you looking at me like that?”

We both looked at the car seat, and click! She got it. She then collapsed on the floor and started crying, then laughing, etc. Then hugs and I love you’s all around.

We ordered pizza and wings for dinner, then played some Rock Band to burn off some nervous energy! Needless to say, we didn’t get much sleep that night.

The next day, our advocate said to plan on coming to the agency to pick up our son that morning, and that she would call with any changes in schedule. We got a call at 10 saying that he hadn’t been circumcised yet, and that we would have to wait until that was done so he could be released to the agency. We waited. We got another call around noon with the same news. We waited more. This was, by far, the LONGEST day of the entire adoption process! We got another call around 2, and told ou advocate that we were just going to start heading out, since we had to go to the bank, etc. We had to get out of the house…we were going crazy with anticipation!

We made it to the agency around 3:30 had had about an hour’s worth of paperwork. Our son had finally arrived at the agency, so they set us up in the nursery for the big reveal! We finally got to meet our beautiful, 6 1/2 pound baby boy! It was the most wonderful moment of our lives! We were so, so happy and full of love…I can’t even describe what I was feeling. We teared up, but were just so happy that there wasn’t any crying. Our smiles were so huge! Once I held little Nicholas in my arms, I knew my life was complete. The look on David’s face said that he felt the same. Oh happy day!!

We came home to a host of family and friends, and a house decorated with blue “It’s a Boy” ribbons, banners, and balloons. It meant so much to us to be able to share this wonderful day with our family.

After the family got a chance to meet him, David and I sat together and held him, just staring, at our beautiful baby. I didn’t think I could be more in love with anyone that I am with my husband, but I was wrong…

Thanks to all of you for your support, love, and friendship over the last two years through our adoption journey. One journey ends, and another begins…Motherhood! YAY!!

 

8 Responses to “Our Adoption Story”

  1. Yaya Says:

    Wow!!! What a beautiful story! Thank you for sharing!!

  2. Beth Says:

    Mom and I have something for Nicholas. I will get it in the mail this weekend. You’ve certainly been in my thoughts, but I wanted to give you a chance to catch your breath. Will call soon!

  3. Chris Naspo Says:

    Congratulations to you again. I love your story and you are all so lucky to have each other. If you ever find yourself back in NJ make sure you look us up so we can have a play date. Enjoy every minute with him.

  4. melissa Says:

    wow, still makes me cry. I LOVE that you are a momma, seriously this could not have happened to 2 better people 🙂

  5. stina Says:

    13 is my lucky number too! Long story, but it’s the honest to god truth. So I think its pretty cool the way the numbers worked for you. 😉 I do hope, though, that your new found parenthood won’t keep the two, I mean, THREE of you from joining Paul & I when we celebrate our 13th Anniversary/vow renewal next Thanksgiving. There will be babysitters. I promise. 😉

    Still planning on coming up to Buffalo this fall, by the way. Can’t wait to meet little Mr. 13. 🙂

  6. Jeanne Says:

    That is so true about the love you have for your child. I used to think the same thing that I couldn’t love anyone more than Joe — until Elizabeth came along. It is the most amazing unconditional love. They rely on you for EVERYTHING and learn everything from you. It’s just so amazing, and I am so happy that you too can now experience it! Love ya!

  7. Jennifer A Says:

    Finally!!! It’s been a long wait but now you have your perfect baby boy — He is beautiful. I can’t believe his long hair — so cute!

  8. Kathy Mason Says:

    I am SO happy for you both! I read your adoption story and got goosebumps! Keep your post updated, I can’t wait to hear more!


Leave a Reply

