How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

I’m his mama… August 5, 2009

Filed under: Adoption — My Dysfunctional Life @ 4:02 pm

I was running arrands with Nicholas this morning, and we stopped at Starbucks on our way back home. There was lots of chatter in the place, but he slept through it all. One woman started talking to me about how beautiful he was, how much hair, etc. and I responded to her. When I started talking, Nicholas opened his eyes…then closed them again when she spoke…then opened them again when I spoke. She said to me, “Look! He knows his Mama’s voice!” I almost started bawling right there.

If only she knew how much that meant to me…how very, very much.

 

7 Responses to “I’m his mama…”

  1. Yaya Says:

    Wonderful!!!!!!

  2. Sherry Says:

    Oh, this one brought real tears to my eyes. After reading your profile with the pictures, I can’t imagine why you weren’t chosen on the first round. But then you wouldn’t have Nicholas!

  3. eeyore Says:

    You ARE his Momma…and Mamma says Happiness comes from magic rays of Sunshine that come down when ya feelin blue!!

    I guess Mother’s day will never be the same for you again will it?!! I am so god awful happy for you I cannot even put it in words. Keep the stories coming hon. I can live vicariously through your joy! 🙂

  4. Beth Says:

    You are too cute!

  5. Katie Says:

    I am so happy for you! I am glad that the ‘match wait’ only lasted a bit more than a day (sometimes I wonder how people that are matched early on in the process make it through with their sanity).

    Enjoy enjoy enjoy! You bring me hope…you bring me happiness!

    Katie

  6. beth(sister beth) Says:

    I’m bawling!

  7. Jodie Says:

    Yep, it’s true. There is nothing more rewarding and precious than when you realize that they know who their Momma is. I remember that moment with each of my children. It is like God’s little gift to you and it is so precious!!

    Nicholas is beyond beautiful. Reading his adoption story made me cry and smile and cry some more. It is almost our five year anniversary of Tyler’s “Gotcha Day” and the emotions are still right there. It is truly an amazing gift. Congratulations to all of you!!


Leave a Reply

