How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

11 years! June 20, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Dysfunctional Life @ 4:20 pm

David and I have been married 11 years today! Most of you know our story, but I love telling it, so here it is again.

We both went to Woodward summer camp in Woodward, PA, which specializes in gymnastics and BMX bike training. After working out for several hours a day, the girls would go watch the boys racing on the BMX track. We stood at the fence and cheered for no one special. However, one guy was particularly cute and I wanted to meet him. He apparently felt the same, because his friend proceeded to come over to me and tell me that he (David) liked me. Hey, I was 12, and he was 13…this is what crazy kids do. Anyway, he won one of the races and then came over to say hello after the final race for the day.

He asked me to the camp dance that Friday! We had a blast…dancing to all of the cheesy 80’s songs we all know and love/loathe…Whitney Houston, Def Leppard, Wham!…you know the deal. I can honestly say that I fell in love with him that night. We had a quick kiss that night (our firsts!) and he left that Sunday.

We exchanged letters and phone calls for the next 5 years, then he asked my to fly up to Buffalo to go to the prom (I was in NJ). Yay! After our moms talked for a long time, I was allowed to go. We had a great time at the prom (the one and only time I wore pink) and for the rest of that weekend, got to talk about our hopes and dreams. I met all of his friends, we went to the Poison concert (yikes!), and had a wonderful time hanging out with each other. I knew this was the man (boy) I would love forever.

We both graduated, went to college in different states, etc. but still wrote letters to each other. Eight years later, I had moved back to NJ and decided we should get together and visit. I was house sitting for a friend of my mother’s, so he came down and spent a week with me. It was great!  We still loved each other and decided we didn’t want to be apart again. We made trips back and forth for the next six months from Montclair to Buffalo and got engaged that Christmas. We were married six months later and have been happily married since.

What makes our marriage work is mutual respect and trust. We talk about everything, respect each others opinions even when we disagree, and genuinely love to be together.

Now we hope to add to our family through the miracle of adoption. I kept praying that David would be a father by Father’s Day this year, but I guess that wasn’t meant to be. I hope this summer brings a baby and the start of our forever family!

Thanks for a wonderful marriage, David. I love you more and more each day and I’m so thankful that we found each other all those years ago. Happy Anniversary!

 

6 Responses to “11 years!”

  1. Yaya Says:

    What a cute story!

  2. Melissa Says:

    so sweet, made me tear up. can you believe i never heard that story, i knew bits and pieces but not the whole thing.

  3. Katie Says:

    Happy 11 years! …there is a birthmother out there that is going to love this story 🙂

  4. David' mom Says:

    I remember one day when you were driving up from NJ – I watched David pace the floor and watch out the window and then the unbridled joy in his face when you arrived – wow. I knew I’d been replaced as his #1 girl and, while a little part of me cried, I knew it was his time and you are the best replacement. I love you both more then I could ever express and watching you grow together fills my heart with joy every day.

  5. Congratulations! Best wishes on your adoption adventure. It truly is an adventure and a blessing. Your family will be complete…it just takes time. ((Hugs))

    Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I’ll be back to check on your adoption journey!!! Any questions about adoption, please ask!!!!!

  6. eeyore Says:

    Wow..just WOW A-W-E-S-O-M-E ! I am Happy for you guys.
    I hope you find a baby too! My Co-Ed offer still stands, but I am gonna need a reversal ok? 🙂

    …/*sigh*/…some day…..the good thing is my needs require a little less paperwork.


Leave a Reply

