How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

11 month update May 4, 2009

Filed under: Adoption — My Dysfunctional Life @ 9:30 am

Well, 11 months have gone by, and we’re not parents. Yet. I know it will happen…

Our home study expires in less than a month. We have submitted all of the paperwork, have all of the references in (I think), and we’re now just waiting on out social worker to call us for an appointment. We’ll have the same SW we did for the first home study…and we just LOVE her. We had a wonderful visit the first time; it was more like having a friend over rather than an interview. I’m excited to see her again! As much as I like her, I hope this is the LAST time we visit with her in this capacity. I believe we will get the call soon…I feel it. Although it’s hard to see all of the new mommies walking around the neighborhood with their beautiful new bundles of joy, I know I will be among those ranks eventually.

We have stopped talking about the adoption all of the time around the house. Instead of discussing “the adoption”, “adoption finances”, or “banking vacation days”, we are just going with the flow. All of the paperwork is in place, the money is secured, and we are looking to the future. There is nothing more we can do at this point except wait. Although I love it when David talks about building a sandbox in the backyard, we are trying not to get ahead of ourselves. It WILL happen. I know it will. So for now, we are just living our lives, taking it one step at a time.

 

4 Responses to “11 month update”

  1. Yaya Says:

    I’m so sick of waiting. Waiting waiting waiting. Hoping your child comes SOON!

  2. MIchele Says:

    It will happen….patience is a virtue, of which we are not good at, but all good things come to those who wait.

  3. Katie Says:

    Waiting is difficult! I found your blog a few days ago and loved that someone else was feeling as I was. We are only in month 3.5 of waiting domestically, but our journey started in January of 2007 where we started on an international road that didn’t work out. Katie

  4. M. Says:

    Let me tell you a little story about our wait. We went to our agency (3.5 hours away) to update our study at the 12 month wait mark. Already down about it, we had the pleasure of meeting with The Agency Director From Hell, who, instead of encouraging us and giving us direction on any different approaches we could take, etc, proceeded to make me cry right there in her office. Told me that actually, for the first time ever in the history of the agency, that one prospective birth mother called the agency to check on our online profile, but then went with a completely different family. Nice. She also added that there was one family who came (a young woman and her father) and took our profile but they never heard back from them and didn’t expect them to follow through. I felt so hopeless and helpless and angry and more.

    Then, a few weeks later, literally as i was in church asking God to please let me accept childlessness if that was the plan, we got our call…it was the girl they didn’t think would follow through. And one month later, our son was born!

    The wait is HARD. I wish you peace as you live it.


Leave a Reply

