How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

New Adoption Profile April 17, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Dysfunctional Life @ 9:40 pm

As I said in a previous post, we have been profiled for several adoption situations and haven’t been chosen. So I decided that we needed to try a new approach! I have completely redesigned our adoption profile. The idea is two-fold actually…

Since I’m working on starting my own biz making adoption profiles and lifebooks, I have been designing some prototypes to use as samples on my website. I am using our profile information, so people can see a “real” profile in action.  Anyway, the profile we have been using for the last year is very busy; it has a different theme/color scheme on each page spread, and every picture has a caption. There are also lots of embellishments, etc. It was very descriptive, but a bit busy. Anyway, I started thinking about how it must feel to be a birthmom faced with 7-10 of these books when she is going through a very difficult time in her life. She is probably overwhelmed and reading all of those birthmother letters, checking out captions, looking at all of those faces…well, it’s probably enough to make he head spin. So…my approach this time is “keep it simple”.

The new profile has a consistent theme, and our birthmother letter is spread throughout the book. I updated some pictures by adding in a few fun ones, and there are no captions on the pictures. The birthmom needs to know we are loving, happy, and have lots of people we love in our lives. The pictures speak for themselves.

When I went to Office max to get them printed, the designer commented on how nice they were! That made me feel really good about them. They are also going to be good samples to use on the company site, once I’m up and running. Yay!

If you want to check it out, there’s a link to the download in the right margin of this page (green box). The first one is the uncompressed version, but the file is pretty large. If you can’t accommodate the large file, the second one is compressed and very tiny. However, the images and graphics aren’t as clear, but you’ll get the picture. Let me know what you think!

 

One Response to “New Adoption Profile”

  1. Mida Says:

    Love the new profile. It looks fantastic! You should go into business. : >


Leave a Reply

