How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

Goin’ Bald for Bucks April 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Dysfunctional Life @ 7:49 am

When I worked and lived in North Collins, I met this wonderful woman named Cathy George, aka “Georgie”. She was full of life, laughter, and vigor. I met her through others I knew, and so started my affiliation with Team Georgie. Team Georgie was formed for the Susan G. Komen walk back in 2003 (?) and I have been walking and doing fundraisers with them ever since.The leader of this team is a dear friend, Di Mathis, and she has continued to lead this group keeping Georgie in the spotlight. Sadly, Cathy is no longer with us, but her memory lives on through her friends and family.

Goin’ Bald for Bucks is a community program that was started by Cathy’s brother, Tony. Kids pledge to shave their heads and collect donations for the Komen Foundation. Then, on a particular day, the local high school hosts the head shaving and collects the cash. It is such a beautiful sight to see so many kids (preK-12) shave their heads for charity. The kids who have hair long enough donate their hair to Locks of Love.

Ever since this event started, I have participated. (I went to beauty school right out of high school, so I shave heads.) The first two years, I even got my head shaved! Not anymore, however… Have you ever been through a Buffalo winter with short hair?! Not fun.

Anyway, this year’s event was on the 8th and was hosted at North Collins HS, as usual. My old stomping grounds! They raised almost $8000 and ALL of the money goes to the Susan G. Komen foundation. The best part was a little girl who sat in my chair. She was 4 years old and donated 12 inches of her hair to locks of love. What a wonderful thing to do at such a young age!

It felt good to be a part of something bigger than myself, and to know that all of the participants did it Georgie’s name. We miss you, sister!

 

One Response to “Goin’ Bald for Bucks”

  1. di Says:

    oh man…thanks, my friend. thanks for the love!!


Leave a Reply

