How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

Just passing the time… January 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Dysfunctional Life @ 12:35 pm

There hasn’t been a whole lot going on over here, besides the Steelers going to the Superbowl excitement (YIPPEE!!), so I decided to make my own action. I’m bored of waiting…waiting…waiting…so I decided I would use this time to pick up some healthy habits that keep me busy. I started Weight Watchers last week. My company had a screaming deal…$100 bucks for a year for the online program. So I started last week, and I lost 3 pounds! I’m actually having fun with it…it forces me to pay attention to what I am eating, which I need. It’s easy to eat too much when you are working from home…I used to graze all day, but I guess it was adding up. I bought the complete cook book and I’m finding some really good recipes.

I am also starting a “Couch to 5k” running program. It is 9 weeks long and you start out slow…alternating walking and jogging, until you build up over 9 weeks to jog 3 miles. Since it’s so cold, I’m actually doing it at home, which is good to help build up my stamina anyway. I got some new running sneaks last week, so I’m all set! I’ll run 3 times a week, and  rest in between those days doing yoga and stretching. Time to get strong and healthy again so I can run around with my future kid!

I’m also doing crafts a lot…I have started crocheting blankets, I am making wine glass charms that I hope will be a small source of income, and I’m running a workshop at the adoption agency next week for Waiting Families. In addition, going to Rochester next week to take a one-evening class on making cannolis with my mom and sister. It should be fun! That is going to be a lean weight watchers day…I’ll probably just eat yogurt and applesauce all day to make up for the calories from the cannolis. TOTALLY WORTH IT!

 

2 Responses to “Just passing the time…”

  1. Beth Says:

    I started Weight Watchers over the summer. Shannon, Laura, and I went to meetings until I came back to Germany. Now, I do the online thing, too. I have lost 23 lbs. since July. I didn’t do a lot with it from about Thanksgiving until last week, but I didn’t gain any either. I love that it teaches me what a portion size actually is as opposed to what I thought it should be. You need to check out http://www.hungrygirl.com. She does a lot with Fiber One ceral. She’s not endorsed by Weight Watchers, but she incorporates her recipes with their ideas and posts point values. I will send you a bunch of recipes. Good luck!

  2. Alison Says:

    That is GREAT Michelle! I am especially interested in hearing all about the canollis class 😉 YUM!


Leave a Reply

