How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

What is a Blog? January 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Dysfunctional Life @ 11:18 am

Blog noun. Short for web log, an online, regularly updated journal or newsletter that is readily accessible to the general public by virtue of being posted on a website. Blogs typically report and comment on topics of interest to the author, and are usually written and posted using software specifically designed to facilitate blogging; they include hyperlinks to other website and, often, photos, video clips, and the like.

Bloggernoun. One who journals online and maintains a blog.

Most of us are very familiar with blogs; we write one, comments on others, or just read them to gain insight to a person’s ideas, thoughts, or comedic ramblings. That’s why you are here, right?!

What I find fascinating about blogs is their power. They can promote an idea, crossing continents, oceans, and language barriers.  They can convey sympathy for others dealing with a specific affliction, concern, or loss. They bring people together: friends, family, long-lost relatives, as well as complete strangers.

The last one is the one that I ponder the most: a blog brings people together. I have been blogging regularly since I have started going through the adoption process. [I have blogged for a few years, but the topics were random.] What has resulted from this blog is friendship and connections that I would have never known otherwise.

I have come to find that other people going through the adoption process have seen this blog and are sharing their experiences through comments and emails.  People as near as Rochester and as far as Minnesota are going through this with me, and I with them. By posting here I can find their blogs to see how they are coping with adoption and all its trials and tribulations.

In addition, my friends from all cross the country are meeting each other through their blogs and posts, which makes me feel like we are all one big family. Case in point: I was reading my friend’s blog in Sacramento only to find that he linked his blog to the blog of an old friend of mine from New Jersey. I know they have never met in person, but they have now met virtually through postings. How cool is that?

So what does this mean, exactly? It means that a blog crosses barriers, whether they be physical, political, social, racial, etc. A blog knows none of these things. It brings people together to electronically hold hands, give hugs, shed tears, and share opinions. It gives solace and comfort, and an avenue to make new friends.

Thanks for posting your comments and giving me a glimpse into your lives. Keep ’em coming!

(Ok…now I’m singing the “I Love Technology” song from the end of Napoleon Dynamite.)

 

Leave a Reply

