How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

I Pledge… January 19, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Dysfunctional Life @ 4:42 pm

Tomorrow is the inauguration of our first African American President, Barack Obama. I feel proud to be alive at this time in history and more inspired by what I have seen in the last few weeks than by anything else I have seen in my lifetime. I think this must be something similar to what Americans felt when Kennedy was elected into office.

Obama promises change, and he will deliver. However, I feel that the change is happening already: we have inspiration and love in our hearts. The change that is happening and that will keep happening is US. How we think and act and feel is the CHANGE. We have a renewed faith in our country, in our neighbors, in our friends, and in ourselves. The change happens when we promise to be better people by helping each other, our environment, and our nation.

A movement has started: an American Pledge (you’ll see it on TV soon). This movement is where people pledge to do something more to help America, whether it’s planting trees, reducing waste, giving to charity, volunteering, etc. it’s all part of the CHANGE. So, as part of this movement, I ask that each of you make a pledge to do something for your country. Even the smallest action can make a big difference.

So, in my renewed spirit brought on by this momentous event, I pledge to perform random acts of kindness to those I know, and those I don’t know. I promise to reduce my carbon footprint even more than I do now, and I promise to instill these values into our (future) child.

What do you pledge?

 

2 Responses to “I Pledge…”

  1. summer Says:

    i pledge to be the best role model i can for, first my two beautiful daughters and then those around me. each day i know i can do something alittle better, alittle more patient. and this i hope to do this year. -xo summer

  2. Michele G. Says:

    I pledge to TRY not to judge others as I have not walked in their shoes and do not know what or how they are feeling or what their lives may be like. I do however instill this into my son and tell him that you should “do unto others, as you would like them to do unto you.” Michele (the hopefully no so mean one!)


Leave a Reply

