How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

New Year’s Perspectives January 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Dysfunctional Life @ 7:02 pm

Today…I will live in peace with my family, my neighbor, and myself. I will bring peace to my patch of earth.

Today…I will believe that world peace is possible. I will remember that hope is the most important gift I can give the world.

Today…I will be happy. I will remember that my joy is up to me. I will carry my confidence to all I touch this day.

Today…I will plant the seed of justice in the global village, in my city, in my neighborhood, in my family, and in my heart.

 

2 Responses to “New Year’s Perspectives”

  1. Beth Says:

    I was reading something over the trip about “New Year’s Resolutions” and it lead to a discussion amongst some of the tour group. One girl came up with more of a statement for each year. 2007’s was “Be Happy.” To her, that meant find joy and happiness in everything she did. 2008’s was “Make it Meaningful”. She’d enjoyed herself the previous year, but wanted deeper satisfaction and purpose. One girl came up with her’s for 2009 – “Less is More”. She wants to sift through “stuff” and get rid of things, ideas, relationships that are holding her back or complicating her life. After looking over last two years, I saw myself as hummingbird. 2007 was about cocooning myself and mourning a broken heart or doing things with the wrong intentions, but 2008 was a frenzy of activity. A butterfly would be have been the more appropriate follow up, but I darted from one thing to the next without much thought to direction or purpose, flapping my wings constantly. I sort of exploded out of my cocoon rather than emerge. My mantra for 2009 is “Priorities”. What are my priorities for the year? What are my priorities for the day? Is what I am pouring my energy into going to help me accomplish my priorities? Stay focused on what’s important to me and not get distracted by other people’s agendas. Help and support others when I can, but don’t set their priorities over my own. Here’s to hoping 2009 brings us all the happiness our hearts can hold!

  2. mdlasure Says:

    I love this idea! It puts much less pressure on a person, and the statement can apply to every aspect of your life. You are wise beyond your years, my friend.


Leave a Reply

