How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

2008, a Retrospective… December 29, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Dysfunctional Life @ 7:15 pm

My pal Lynnie dubbed this as “the year of waiting”, which is the best way to put this year into a concise package. Here’s a review of 2008 in our family:

  • I served on a jury
  • I took telecourses courses on Project Management
  • I played poker with pals
  • My sister finished her Masters degree (party!)
  • I worked on my Masters degree
  • I went to San Francisco
  • We took Adoption Classes
  • We got a home equity to pay for the adoption
  • Got our adoption home study approved
  • We took infant and child CPR classes
  • I took Flash classes online
  • I went to the spa with Mom and Sis
  • We went to Mexico
  • Got profiled for case #1, didn’t get picked
  • Celebrated Gramma Lasure’s 95th bday
  • Got profiled for case #2, didn’t get picked
  • Produced several distance learning projects
  • Got profiled for case #3, didn’t get picked
  • Spent the weekend with Mara and Cris (friends for 24 years!)
  • Got profiled for case #4, didn’t get picked
  • Spent time with the Dottore family at the lake house
  • Got profiled for case #5, didn’t get picked
  • Moved to a new team at work
  • Got profiled for case #6, didn’t get picked
  • Got profiled for case #7, didn’t get picked
  • Visited our pals in Cape Cod
  • Celebrated Grandma Naso’s 97th bday
  • Waiting to hear about case #8…

We’ve spent 7 months “waiting” for our adoption call. We will wait… and wait… and wait some more…

    I know once we get “the call”, all of this waiting will be a distant memory and it will ALL be worth it. I hope it happens soon!

    Happy New Year, everyone!

     

    2 Responses to “2008, a Retrospective…”

    1. Becky Says:

      Wow– so they tell you each time someone looks at your profile? I guess every agency does it differently. With our agency we don’t hear anything unless a birthparent wants to actually meet with us. They also REALLY encourage birthparents to only meet in person with one or two families to avoid the emotional roller coaster that the adoptive families go through. Anyways, that is quite a year! Like you mentioned in your other comment—hopefully 2009 will be full of great things! (including a new baby)

    2. eeyore Says:

      whatever!! I just wanted to know if you got any new lingerie this year! 😉 Happy New Year I have a motto for you..keep repeating it and it will come true “A Baby that’s mine in 2009” !


    Leave a Reply

    