How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

I’m in a glass case of emotion! December 28, 2008

Filed under: Adoption — My Dysfunctional Life @ 10:19 am

Anything related to kids, family, or babies makes me cry lately.

There is a Pampers commercial where Silent Night is playing in the background and they show video of many different babies sleeping…I lose it every time. I know, I’m dumb.

There was an adoption special on Tuesday night called A Home For Christmas. It’s put on by the Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption and has lots of famous people singing, talking about their own adoption stories, and about other families that were made by the miracle of adoption. Faith Hill hosted (she was adopted) and it featured stars such as  Jamie Foxx (adopted at 7 months), Melissa Etheridge, Tim McGraw and Gavin Rossdale, as well as Kristin Chenoweth (adopted), Patricia Heaton, Rene Russo and Martin Short.

The focus of the show was the children who have found homes through this foundation, which matches foster care children with permanent homes. Every story they told made me cry.

Faith Hill sang a song that put me in tears right from the start. It gets me going on a few different levels. When I first heard it, I didn’t know it was a Christmas song, and I thought it was about a single girl getting pregnant (which it IS, but…), and that made me think about adoption from the perspective of the mother feeling like she must place. And I cried. Then as I listened and realized it was about the birth of Christ, and the hope that he brings to us and, well, I cried. Then I started thinking about it in terms of my own role as a future mother and the changes that a baby will bring to us and, you guessed it, I cried. Here are the words:

Teenage girl much too young
Unprepared for what’s to come
A baby changes everything

Not a ring on her hand
All her dreams and all her plans
A baby changes everything
A baby changes everything

The man she loves she’s never touched
How will she keep his trust
A baby changes everything
A baby changes everything

And she cries
Ooh she cries
Oh ohhh…

She has to leave, go far away
Heaven knows she can’t stay
A baby changes everything

She can feel it’s coming soon
There’s no place there’s no room
A baby changes everything
A baby changes everything

And she cries
And she cries
Oh she cries

Shepherds all gather ’round
Up above the star shines down
A baby changes everything

Choir of angels sing
Glory to the newborn king
A baby changes everything
A baby changes everything
Everything, everything, everything
Hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah, hallelujah

My whole life has turned around
I was lost, but now I’m found
A baby changes everything, yeah
A baby changes everything

Anyway, it’s been an emotional year and you can probably understand why I’m such a basket case when I hear/see things like this. The show did give me hope and made me excited about what this organization is doing. I requested a copy of their materials so I can learn more about what they do. If we don’t get matched with a birthmother/baby soon, we have discussed going this route.

Where’s my tissue?

 

4 Responses to “I’m in a glass case of emotion!”

  1. Alison Says:

    What a coinicidence – I was literally JUST listening to this song on the radio and wanted to look the lyrics up online and then I came here and there they are! BEAUTIFUL! Glad you had a wonderful Christmas!

  2. eeyore Says:

    Wow,,, that is a lot of emotion. I keep hoping for you. There is a baby out there for you somewhere. I hope you have a great New Years eve, go party and think about the future. Oh and drink plenty of fluids you must be dehydrated girl!

  3. Becky Says:

    Hi! My husband and I are also in the adoption process, I have seen that Pampers commercial and shed many a tear over it this holiday season!!! You are not alone!! I just totally relate to this. I’m a crier anyways, but this process is stressfull and emotional and scary and exciting all at the same time. And darn those people who write the stinkin sentimental commercials and songs anyways! Don’t they know that us adoptive moms-to-be just can’t handle it right now? I’m finding that one of the most important things at this point in the wait is to be sure that all this emotion is balanced out with a lot of laughter. Some days it is just impossible, but those days that something strikes me as funny I try to laugh as much as I can and remember that one of the greatest joys will be to laugh with my future kiddo….and that thought makes me cry, but smile at the same time. Thanks for your honesty…it’s so nice to know that others deal with the same stuff. Hugs to you!

  4. mdlasure Says:

    Hi Becky! I’m so glad you posted here. It makes it a little easier knowing that I’m not the only one going through this emotional roller-coaster. I agree with you about the therapeutic benefits of laughter…if we are having a bad day because a profiling didn’t work out or we are just emotionally exhausted from the adoption process in general, we can always count on Jim Carrey or Will Farrell to bring us out of our funk. We just throw in a silly DVD and laugh ’til it hurts. Laughter IS the best medicine!

    Stay strong Becky- I know that 2009 will be a great year for both of our us!

    I would love to hear more about your adoption story…feel free to email me privately anytime. My address is on the home page of the blog. Hugs right back at ya! XO!


Leave a Reply

