How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

Holiday fun! December 16, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — My Dysfunctional Life @ 10:06 pm

This evening was reminiscent of childhood; baking sugar cookies while watching It’s a Charlie Brown Christmas on the kitchen tv. I know this one by heart, down to Snoopy’s funny noises. I bake batch after batch…trees, stockings, candy canes, and snowmen. The house is toasty warm from the oven, contrasting the 20 degree temperature outside. The snow is falling, covering the trees with sparkly white frosting. What a beautiful night!

What are some of your sweetest holiday memories?

 

4 Responses to “Holiday fun!”

  1. Melissa Says:

    My favorite memories always involve watching Emmett Otter’s Jugband Christmas (watched it twice this year already). I also love Mickey’s Christmas Carol (was on last night on ABC Family). I try to get the boys to watch these with me, but toys are much more exciting than tv, which is a good thing I know.

  2. mdlasure Says:

    I can honestly say that I have never seen the Emmet Otter one…I have never even heard of it. I usually stick with the Claymation classics.

    It is good that the boys are more interested in their toys right now, because you KNOW that in a few years they will be TV/video game junkies…just like all kids…(and some husbands…) 🙂

  3. 'stina Says:

    Wait a minute mdlasure…you’ve never heard of Emmet Otter’s Jugband Christmas? OMG. You MUST go to the store right now and rent it or buy it and watch it. It totally rocks. 🙂

    As for the original question…I love love love the Year Without A Santa Claus. That’s the one with Heat Miser. Its never on TV anymore though, so I bought it. 🙂 Other holidays faves are baking ridiculous amounts of cookies, and getting stockings way before everyone else (St. Nicolas brings stocking in early December)

  4. Beth Says:

    My favorite memory / tradition is putting up the tree and listening to Christmas music (Burl Ives’ “Silver and Gold”). Every ornament has a special memory attached or is connected to someone I love. I’ve been picking up souvenirs in Zambia, Botwsawan, Namibia and will in South Africa when I arrive. More memories to tack onto the tree!


Leave a Reply

