How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

Feeling down today… December 2, 2008

Filed under: Adoption — My Dysfunctional Life @ 5:00 pm

We got our monthly update of Adoption Happenings from our agency. Two placements last month, lots of referrals, and some International activity. Hearing about other successful adoptions makes me happy for them and sad for us. I just want to be a mom so badly. We had two more profiling opportunities the week before Thanksgiving, but they didn’t choose us. Bummer.

I came across this video today and cried my eyes out; it seemed to be talking about us, although the end would have adoption added to the list of options. Check it out: http://www.tearsandhope.com/emptyarms_video.html

Maybe we’ll get the greatest Christmas gift of all this year…please keep those prayers coming. 🙂

 

7 Responses to “Feeling down today…”

  1. Melissa Says:

    You are both such good people, it will happen , I pray everyday that it will soon!

  2. Alison Says:

    Michelle & David,
    HUGS to you! Please know that i pray for you guys and your future baby every day! hang in there! It WILL happen for you, too!

  3. eetyore Says:

    OK, first off I have cornered the market on depression and there is not enough room here at the bottom for the both of us, so you ate going to have to go back up to ambivalent, or maybe even bereft, but you can’t share the bottom with me ok? Secondly, I wish I could say I could understand, but it would be impossible for me to walk a mile in your shoes. However, having said that you two have such great friends and family and support that I know you will get through this. In fact, if I wasn’t fixed already I would be out there impregnating young co-eds for you right now and then putting your contact information in their pockets! It’s the least I could do. In the mean time STOP WATCHING THAT VIDEO. Admittedly it is very poignant and powerful, but it is just going to get you down hon.

  4. Beth Says:

    Be sad, if that’s how you feel. Cry. Scream. Then, when can’t squeeze out another tear and your voice is hoarse, remember … you knew right from the beginning that this wasn’t going to be easy or fast. I also want you to remember how long and hard it was to get to this point in your life. How long did it take you to find David again? What did you have to endure, survive, and overcome before him? How long did it take you to get your degree? Was any of it easy? Was it fast? I’ve know you long enough to answer “no”; it was neither of those things. Now ask yourself … “Was it worth it?” As someone who’s walked beside you for while now on your journey, I think you’d say “yes”, but that’s for you to answer. I know “patience” is a bitter pill to swallow while it is going down, but how sweet the after-taste! Sending you both hugs and kisses!

  5. mdlasure Says:

    Beth- you are my rock. You have been a true friend for over a decade now and always have a kind word, a hug, or a smack to the senses when I need it.

    It is true that I have had struggles in my life…and I came though them all with a new sense of self, and renewed faith in my abilities. Every experience in my life, good or bad, has made me what I am. I am thankful for that. As you said, it was ALL worth it.

    I was just hoping THIS venture would not be as the others have been…but I know anything worth having is worth waiting for. However, I’m looking forward to that sweet-sweet aftertaste, my friend.

    Thanks for your unending friendship, Beth. I love you!!

  6. Susan Says:

    Hello,
    I came across your blog and wanted to say two things.

    Good luck with the adoption plans! Hope you are blessed with a little adopted miracle soon.

    And secondly, you mentioned….”I came across this video today and cried my eyes out; it seemed to be talking about us, although the end would have adoption added to the list of options.”

    It does actually…all possible options are meant by:
    “but we will resolve our infertility
    ~in some way~
    We just don’t know the path
    that will take us there
    …yet”

    🙂 The “path” was not meant to imply ‘only’ a biological child…since I could not/can not predict the future…only that I knew that there eventually would/will have to be some sort of resolution, be it through having a biological child, adopting a child, or even living childfree and moving on into a new phase of life.

    take care,
    Susan

  7. Julie Says:

    I know it sucks, but everything is worth waiting for. I have no doubt that your baby will come soon, and you will forget all the agony of the wait. I love you both. BTW, David, you are such a romantic, a kitchen sink?


Leave a Reply

