How am I not myself?

This blog serves as personal therapy, stress relief, information sharing, and the occasional sanity check. Enjoy!

An interesting turn of events… November 30, 2008

Filed under: Adoption — My Dysfunctional Life @ 3:44 pm

So hubby and I have been tossing around this idea for a while and have come to a decision: we want a family.

Yes, the independent, tough, and mouthy chick from Jersey has softened.

I had convinced myself after my hysterectomy that I would never want kids, but something changed. I’m not sure what it was…working from home and not seeing kids everyday like I did while working in the schools might be it. Or maybe it’s watching my nephews grow up and seeing how wonderful David is with them. It could be that my maternal instincts were on the fritz and are just now kicking in…I couldn’t say.

So the quest for an adoption agency is on. There are so many options; us adoptions, foreign adoptions, hooking up with a pregnant woman who wants to give up her baby, etc. But the one constant is the cost. A whopping $20-30k for all of this! WTF?

Riddle me this…how is it that there are so many unwanted kids in the world, but the cost of placing them is astronomical? It makes no sense. I know the costs help weed out the pedophiles and other crazies, but come on! People are throwing their kids in garbage cans! Some welfare moms have 10 kids to get the cash, and you mean to tell me a couple who has lots to offer a child has to get a second mortgage to do so?

It boggles the mind. I’ll keep you all posted as things progress in this area…

 

Leave a Reply

